Reference Books! :)

I have been looking for a good book to read for some hours now. I had a mental list prepared of the books I would like to read, but as it always happens at times like these, I have placed the list in some obscure corner of some forgotten drawer and lost all track of it.  After a long and listless browsing session on Flipkart, I finally ordered a few books which I am positive never featured in my ever changing mental reading list.

And in line with my buying strategy: Do First, Think Later, I started a more dedicated research on what’s been happening in the literary world after I placed my order online. And not surprisingly there’s a lot that I have missed! Excited as I am about my order, I also realize I could have ordered better.

So, I am posting  some interesting links that I found as part of my research process here. (As I have amply proven, the mental list strategy is not very promising!)

This has the good (nominated) ones that got published this year across various categories. Also the winners of 2010 and 2009:

http://www.goodreads.com/award/choice/2011

See what the great minds of the world have been reading here:

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2011/11/28/the_fp_top_100_global_thinkers?page=full

Keep upbeat with the latest in the book world here:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books

8 thoughts on “Reference Books! :)

  1. you are better to have ordered the list. I get weekly reminders from the bansal brothers for the 50+ list lying in cart at the flipkart!
    BTW when a potential “austere” author gives references to books, we mortal readers do need to take a look and act with “alacrity”

    1. 50+ books in your list, I wonder how many posts waiting as drafts in your blog too!
      Please enlighten us lesser mortals with some of your wisdom before or after reading those 50 books! 🙂

      I wish I could read as much as I want to! There are so many books out there and there is so less time!!
      And nothing grand about my reading list really.. I would love to become all freaky sounding cool intellectual like you if I get a chance! But alas, my brain can only do so much! 😀

  2. Your blogsite is very different from the one that I find usually on wordpress and so are your blogs. Your 100 words fiction stories is a very innovative stuff (well, atleast for me). Keep Writing! And yes, I strongly recommend ‘House of Silk’ by Anthony Horowitz – A Sherlock Holmes novel. I have recently completed it and found it to be an excellent read.

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

