Ho Ho Ho Ho!! :)

“What do you see in ‘em?!” He growled. “I’m faster, sturdier!”

The old man laughed, “But Ted darling, you’re more! Now lemme go. It’s a long night”.

“I will take you. I won’t let you go with ‘em again!” Ted softened now but was still adamant.

“Who’ll look after the place? Sure you know that’s more important? I trust only you with that. C’mon now kid”.

Ted woofed with pride and gave way.

One tug at the reindeers and the old man was gone. The jingle of the bells on his sledge audible long after it disappeared in the snow.

………………………………

100 Words story written in the spirit of Christmas (albeit a bit delayed! 😀 )

Cue taken from here courtesy Madison! 🙂

35 thoughts on “Ho Ho Ho Ho!! :)

  1. Dear Parul,

    Your story is perfect for Christmas. The trackless snow covered road gives the feeling that Santa has taken flight just before the picture was taken and Ted is about to return home to guard the workshops. Wonderful.

    Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Hi,

    I liked the concept, and the fact the dog and Santa can communicate/conversate with the dog. I did get hung up a bit at a few places in the dialog, though “you’re more!” for example.

    eh, I might have just read too quickly and missed something, I do that. Hahah.

    1. Thanks for the feedback Craig. The story was originally 180 – 190 words.
      And that particular statement was –
      “Come now Ted! You are my darling son! And you know you’re much more than that! Now let me go. I am running late and it’s a long night”.

      Needless to say, Ted’s original statement wasn’t just “I’m faster, sturdier”. Ted was more elaborate about his key features..

      Then I cut here and there and everywhere and it was reduced to its current form.
      I know I know, 100 is not a mandate. But I took it as a challenge, wanted to keep it “exact” 100!

      So I think it is not just your quick reading. I might have inadvertently contributed to it!

      Thanks for the feedback. Appreciate it! 🙂

      Funny my reply is 100+ words. So much for cutting corners! 😀

  3. Oh I love this. The dialogue is endearing and that winter wonderland scene really does evoke some Santa Claus/North Pole sensations. Plus, I’m just happy thinking of Santa with a doggy named Ted.

  4. That was a sweet story Parul, and the only problem I found was in not understanding what Santa meant when he told Ted he’s ‘more’. But that’s a problem in only having 100 words to work with. Loved the feeling I got while reading it, too.

  5. Thanks Madison.
    Wonderful prompt!
    I have thought of a few more themes to write on with this pic. It would spill over Friday though 🙂

    I agree with you. “He’s more” needs more to it! I just explained the history behind it to Craig. The statement was bigger previously. But in my bid to squeeze everything in 100 words Ted had to suffer. I hope he woofs and forgets! 😀

  6. I really liked this & I love the idea of Santa having a dog named Ted and not something like Jingle or something- perfect Christmas story. (Figured there was more to the more thing but I’m having trouble staying to 100 words myself, I’m really going for it next time though! 🙂

    1. Thanks for reading it. Glad you like it.
      100 words is a good challenge.
      ‘More’ didn’t come out well.. Am taking it as a, feedback for next time! 🙂

    1. Yeah, I guess I will get better with more attempts.. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂
      A little tied up right now, there’ll be some delay before I get to your post.

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

