Reflections

“God I suck at this! Will I be able to walk tomorrow?” I asked my instructor as I struggled to get up with my skis on after another fall.

“You’re fine. Just stop using your brain” she replied drily.

“How you ski reflects how you live” I said freeing my feet from the darn skis and getting up.

“It is what it is. See you again, bye.”

I put my skis away, picked my camera and zoomed at the farthest hill. The image was but a mockery of the existing.  I put the camera aside and lied in the snow with the sun burning my bare skin.

It does make you reflect I thought and got lost in my own thoughts.

…………………………

From Madison’s photo prompt:

20 thoughts on “Reflections

    1. Right before, the other person said, “Stop using your brain.” So it reflects the way you live in that how you approach skiing is how you approach anything in life.

      Perhaps that wasn’t clear from the way it was worded. Maybe the author should have used ‘replied’ rather than ‘said’. This way, the thought seems more disconnected.

      1. Read the post again in the light of your comment.. I fail to see what you saw…
        Perhaps because I see the scene as it is, since I wrote it… Or maybe, you need to read it again… 🙂
        Anyway, appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

        Parul

      2. Reading the post over, it makes more sense. But I’m not sure if that’s because I’ve already grasped the conversation, if my attention was divided before or what.

      1. I like the connection that I saw to the prompt — it’s nice to feel it moves a little outside the physical implication of the photo sometimes. Nice job, Parul.

  1. Parul, I can relate to “not using your brain”–sometimes it’s easier to learn/accomplish a task if you rely on instinct rather than over-thinking the situation. Mostly, it applies to physical exertions, though.

  2. I liked that bit about ‘the image was but a mockery of the existing’. That’s a one-liner to give a bit of thought to. This was a piece that had to be read a couple of times to get the full impact, but it was well worth doing so. Well done. Thanks for commenting so generously on mine.

  3. I enjoyed the story but I confess that I didn’t fully understand what was going on. Is it simply the act of learning to ski, just taken a step further by the MC’s busy and philosophical brain?

  4. I can totally understand having to stop thinking in order to do something. I think that’s what the first commenter meant about ‘zoning out’, and I think the confusion is just a language issue. Your story made sense to me, but then, I’m ‘not thinking’ too much in order to understand it 😉 Sometimes intuition helps a lot. Sandra’s favorite part was mine, about the image being a mockery of the real sight. It was a good story and quite alright to not be directly related to the photo (it’s alright to not be related at all, even)

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

