This is the End, Beautiful Friend

Closures are important. Old makes way for new, my father used to say.

I sat longer than was safe to watch the sun rise one last time. I let it fill my heart and warm my soul like it always did.  I let it assure me that everything will be alright again. I didn’t believe it, but I didn’t want to think otherwise. I didn’t want to think at all.

I ended an era as the day began.

The sedatives I mixed in his drink were heavy. I would be long gone before he wakes up, if at all.

………………………..

A late entry for Madison’s Friday prompt-

I leave you with a beautiful song…

10 thoughts on “This is the End, Beautiful Friend

  1. Hmmm. Very prettily told, the beauty of the dawn… However I think you should say:
    “I would be long gone before he woke up, if at all” – I think that would be more grammatically correct…
    Hope that’s okay,
    otherwise, the warmth of the sun evokes a beauteous end to their lives together…

    1. Thanks for stopping by Lindaura… and a very interesting observation on the sentence too.. It’s absolutely okay to point that out. I need to think a bit about it…
      Thanks for noticing!

      Parul

    1. Thanks Sandra… I am not too sure about “wakes up”…” I would be long gone” is past future tense… should it be followed by past tense? Not sure.. hmm…

    1. It was an escape… what happens to the guy is open to interpretation… I didn’t think of mercy killing… very interesting take..

      Thanks! 🙂

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

