When Words Fail

“You never say anything”, he said to her in an exasperated tone.

“But what do you want me to say? I have nothing particular in mind” she replied, smiling despite her own exasperation at the oft repeated, never explained accusation.

“Hmm… I don’t know. Just speak your mind”

“Okay… I will speak when something pops up. In the meantime, what are we having for breakfast? I am starving!” She said trying to lighten the atmosphere.

She is just pretending again! He thought between their conversations.

What dark secrets does he think I am hiding from him? She wondered between smiles and laughter.

Few days past…

It was a beautiful, calm Sunday evening. She was listening to a melodious song suggested by him, savoring the aroma of coffee looking outside the window of their balcony.

“You know what?  If you don’t tell me what’s going in your mind, I have no means of knowing it”. He said startling her.

“I tell you everything, what else do you want to hear? Come here, the sun is about to set. It is so serene!” She replied, praying he abandons his unknown quest.

He came and stood near her. She leaned next to him as they watched the sunset.

Why can’t she just tell me she is not into it? He thought to himself, looking at the approaching dark, oblivious of the beauty that she had mentioned some time back.

A perfect moment spoiled again. Why does he do this every time! The evening had lost its charm on her as well.

Few weeks past…

They were sloshed and wasted – so much so that the key to the main door did not seem to fit the key-hole anymore. So they sat in the porch laughing at their inability to do the basic task, each blaming the other for getting so drunk. She was drifting in and out of a dream when she heard the accusation again.

“You know you are nice. But you never tell me what’s running in your mind. You leave me guessing, and I am not conditioned to work like that”

“God, not again! What disturbing news are you seeking to hear from me? What do you want me to say?”

“Just speak your mind. That’s all”.

“What’s on my mind right now is how we get inside the house because  I can swear on the uncountable drinks we had there is nothing more I want to do right now than to pee to my heart’s content”, she said sheepishly, hoping he would lighten up again.

He got up with a jerk and got her to her feet.

“Lies all the time!” he threw her in a corner and left.

Her forehead was bleeding but her vision was clear now. She found the keys and opened the door effortlessly. Went to the toilet, then packed her bags and left the house. Don’t feel, just act, she kept reminding herself.

She saw him on the road a few blocks away.

“Hey! Let me tell you what you wanted to hear all this while”, she called out at him.

When he turned, she raised her right hand and made the universally understood gesture that needs no words.

Peace out.

8 thoughts on “When Words Fail

    1. But aren’t they all different from each other??

      Sent from gmail on Android On Apr 13, 2012 2:17 PM, “parul upadhyaya” wrote:

      > Even I have been wondering the same thing of late! Hmm.. > > Sent from gmail on Android

      1. In a way, yes. Both talk about some kind of estrangement, a certain communication gap between individuals

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

