Older and Wiser?

“Mom, do you remember our old little picnic spot? The Roman Invader’s castle? I drove there this afternoon. It’s in ruins now! Nothing like its old majestic self! It’s like the place was bombed!”

“But it was always like that darling. When you were young, I didn’t have money to afford a nice getaway, so I used to drive you to the deserted army base and tell you that it was a castle. You were such a delightful kid; you improved my version with every visit!”

“I don’t believe this!”

“Yeah I know, but you were a believer back then.”

……………………………

100 words for Madison’s Friday Prompt:

 

29 thoughts on “Older and Wiser?

    1. Glad I brought back memories. That’s a very satisfying compliment if I may. 🙂
      Thanks a lot for stopping by!

    1. Thanks Doug! That’s very kind of you.

      I’m very happy that you noticed that last line… The whole point of writing this was that last line… But, like you, I too will not explain any further. Just that I’m pleasantly surprised and glad you felt it too! 🙂

  1. So true. I remember going back to my grandparents’ farm house, as well as our first house, and thinking that they both seemed so much smaller than I remembered them. Things that are fascinating as a child are not always so much when you get older, either; sometimes even have a “yuk” factor!

    1. Yeah… That’s happened with me too… Back as a kids would get lost in the house, only to realise now it was anything but big,and definitely not big enough to get lost in it! Lol..
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

