Helios – Part 3 of 5

Part 1, Part 2

Shira was standing on the cliff overlooking the castle when the gong resonated in the whole of Pacemenia. She had not once lost sight of the castle in the last two days since her father had left to fight the beast of Crumbling Castle.

A night before leaving for the duel, Helios called for his daughter and told her about Uncle Rafael’s most recent act of treachery. Shira was infuriated and suggested it was about time Rafael was put to task. Helios thought otherwise. He thought there was more to Rafael’s hatred than just greed for power, since Rafael knew that if Helios died, Shira would ascend the throne till her younger brother came of age. Rafael had no role to play. In fact he was better off with Helios alive as he had little support from anyone else in Pacemenia. Helios wanted to know what seethed Rafael’s heart and if he could replace it with love and benevolence.

What should I do father while you are gone? Shira asked.

Some extra wishes won’t hurt, Helios smiled. But I could live with one less person praying for me. Come by the cliff instead and watch the Crumbling Castle. Do as you deem appropriate depending upon what you see there.

And so Shira went to the cliff, keeping the castle under her vigil. Rafael paced around or slept under a tree. When the gong was blown, Rafael, resting under the tree, sprang to his feet and took out something from his bag. Then she saw her father collapse to the ground and Rafael standing shocked for a few seconds. Shira had mounted her horse when she saw Rafael chaining her father. He is still alive, she thought relieved.

Rafael dragged Helios with great difficulty to the dungeons. Panting and falling and slouching and resting after every few minutes. Shira was amused by the sight and watched for sometime before turning her horse to go to the beast’s castle.

The beast was alive but only for namesake. He was hallucinating with fear. Shira offered him water and asked him why he made the mistake of challenging Helios to a duel. The Beast blabbered incoherently.

The light… the light is intense… the darkness… the darkness is closing in…

The beast had nothing significant to offer and he was suffering by unknown demons of yesteryears. Shira slit his throat with her sword and closed his eyes. She stayed there for some time – head bowed and lips moving in a prayer for the departed soul.

……………………

I have no idea where I am going with this, it’s become a little boring if you ask me…  And I have missed the deadline of finishing the series too…

Anyway, this is third part of Helios series.

The Inspirational Monday prompt used for this one is – “Extra Wishes”

You can follow the links for Part 1 and Part 2.

9 thoughts on “Helios – Part 3 of 5

  1. I don’t think it’s boring. The introduction of a new character adds interest, makes it feel like it’s building towards something big. I like that this sweet, prayerful girl had the guts to put the beast out of its misery – it says something about the time and the culture you are writing about.

    I’m really enjoying this; I hope you’ll finish the series, even if it is past deadline. : )

    1. Thanks for the encouragement… I did have intentions of sending this to cold storage… but Helios had a way of nagging me in my free time… So, I thought I have to rest it once and for all… have picked it from where I left. Hope to finish it… 🙂

  2. Parul, I agree and would like to see you finish this, that is, if your heart is in it, and at the right time. Sometimes I go back to a story after a while, but the stories I go back to are ones that have a special hold on my imagination.
    Good job, and good job working in the prompts! I too enjoyed Shira’s being part of the story.

      1. I’m glad to hear this, Parul, and will go find the next part.
        Right now, I’m finishing some things too. Finishing them is teaching me so much, and of course it’s essential.
        Best wishes!
        :0)

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

