The Rascal (Voice Week 1 of 5)

I chased him for 15 years, through mountains and valleys, through rain and shine. Now that he is dead, I should feel victorious. It was my bullet after all. But I saw something in his eyes as he was falling… his lips had curled into a smile just before the bullet hit him. As if he was telling me that I could not have caught him against his will.

At that instant, the rascal robbed me of my moment. And I wonder to this day, 5 years past, what he could have been thinking. I wish he came back from the dead to tell me.

…………….

This is my first entry for Voice Week 2012.

Voice week is a writing challenge hosted by BeKindReWrite to experiment with different voices. It’s the same story told from different points of view.

All my attempts are based on constant premise and characters, with only the perspective of the protagonist as variables. Based on the temperament of the protagonist, the tone of narration as well as his feelings towards his adversary change.

There will be 5 installments coming, one each day, from Oct 1st till Oct 5th.

I am loving this! 🙂

17 thoughts on “The Rascal (Voice Week 1 of 5)

  1. This is brilliant! Already I am hooked to know more about this dead man! Will he get a voice? Who else will we see? Oh, the suspense! 🙂

    Looking forward to more! Really nicely done.

  2. I love this! The first line made me think this was a romance type of story, then BAM! I also really like how you conveyed a genuine air of regret toward the end of the piece.
    Great job!
    =)

  3. An intriguing first voice.
    Sounds like someone who has got his revenge but still feels let down, somehow betrayed.
    Looking forward to voice 2

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

