A Hero? (Voice Week 3 of 5)

Was he a hero, and we – the ones chasing him, the villains?

I would never dare to spell this aloud, but I used to admire him for what he was – a man who loved as he lived, naïve enough to fend for people who could sell themselves for a bottle of whisky and a bundle of currency.

I can’t do anything against his traitors, they are under our protection. Perhaps I don’t have to. If they could not show allegiance to the one man who put his life at stake for them, it’s only a matter of time before they dig each others’ graves.

…………….

This is my third entry for Voice Week 2012.

Voice week is a writing challenge hosted by BeKindReWrite to experiment with different voices. It’s the same story told from different points of view.

All my attempts are based on constant premise and characters, with only the perspective of the protagonist as variables. Based on the temperament of the protagonist, the tone of narration as well as his feelings towards his adversary change.

There will be 5 installments coming, one each day, from Oct 1st till Oct 5th.

I am loving this! 🙂

15 thoughts on “A Hero? (Voice Week 3 of 5)

  1. So it was a group! Right? I never thought of that, but it seems likely now.
    And the fact that they’re referred to as traitors makes this all the better, because now we’re getting the thoughts of one who isn’t exactly rejoicing in the death of the villain. If, that is, he was ever a villain to begin with.
    Really looking forward to the conclusion!
    =)

    1. Oh dear… I think I set wrong expectations… Sorry to disappoint!
      I have replied to your earlier comment explaining what I meant… Perhaps this calls for an explanation in all the posts on my true intent.. 😦

  2. Ah, now we see the doubtful, the secretly regretting. Though I don’t get a sense of guilt here – more sorrow, questioning. An “I did what I thought was best – but was I wrong?” sort of thing. I think this is your most complex perspective yet. I love it!

  3. understanding now what you are intending I can see the different perspectives as being not necessarily actual people, but possibilities in a situation.

  4. An interesting perspective. Makes the story that much different. The reasons for the guy’s death changed all together. Nicely done.

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

