Just another One (Voice Week 5 of 5)

Voice Week is over.. After reading my entries over and over again, and visiting some of the super cool things other people have come up with, I think I could have done it so much better! Anyway.. Until next time.. Too bad that’s a year long wait! This is my last and final offering.. Hope you like it! =)

The press asks me what I felt at that moment when I realized he was dead. My answer is the same every time. I say I was thinking about my next assignment now that this was done. They look surprised, but it is true. No matter how celebrated, he was an anti-social element at the end of the day that had to be nipped. There are more like him who need to be attended to. And as long as I am in the police force, I will chase criminals and bring them to task. I’m just doing my job.

…………….

This is my fifth and last entry forΒ Voice Week 2012.

Voice week is a writing challenge hosted by BeKindReWrite to experiment with different voices. It’s the same story told from different points of view.

All my attempts are based on constant premise and characters, with only the perspective of the protagonist variable. Based on the temperament of the protagonist, the tone of narration as well as his feelings towards his adversary change.

There will be 5 installments coming, one each day, from Oct 1st till Oct 5th.

I am loving this! πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Just another One (Voice Week 5 of 5)

  1. Clever choice for day five – after all the emotion behind the first four, the apathetic view is perhaps the saddest. Though this is the one I feel most inclined to root for – I mean, with the others there was always the feeling that maybe the one who died was the good guy. I tend to side with the policeman in this one. Your voices all week have been both entertaining and insightful!

    1. Thanks BeKind.

      I enjoyed taking part in your challenge, Thanks for coming up with this concept and being such a gracious host!

      About the post, this one happens to be my personal favorite of the five.

  2. Ah, I could picture this police officer. Hand on his gun belt, scowl on his face, facing the cameras head on as he talked to the press. Just business, nothing more. The man was simply a criminal that needed put down no matter how illustrious he was. Very nice!

  3. This brings a nice balance to your collection of voices, Parul. I know what you mean about being so impressed with other people’s version fo this challenge. It’s been really interesting to see how everyone itnerprets the rules. I’ve enjoyed yours and I reckon they could be useful to you in future pieces as you try to pitch particular characters’ narratives.
    See you next year!

    1. I hope this helps in future. In fact, I have some draft version of this challenge, which I plan to post on some other pretext in near future… Smart, eh? πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for the visit. I loved your entries of the week too.
      Until next time! πŸ™‚

  4. Day 4 and 5 together. The gangster’s mol – bound to miss him. like she says, she’ll see him in hell. The policeman though, now he’s a tough cookie. Don’t care about the person, just doing his job. But I be he goes home and has a drink or three to help him sleep.

    Well done Parul – great reads – good week!

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

