The Escape

“Did she board the bus?” The burly man passed a photograph to the driver.

The driver studied the brunette. “Nope, I haven’t seen this girl around. You could check with others”.

The man looked around. Pursuing too much could raise doubts.

“You mind if I take a peek inside?” he turned to the driver.

“Sure, help yourself.”

But looking at the gathering passengers around, he decided otherwise. “Never mind, I’ll look elsewhere.”

“As you wish. All aboard!”

Lying prostrate under the last row of seats, Anette heard the footsteps of incoming passengers. Heaving a sigh of relief, she walked to the driver.

“One ticket to Greyhound Terminal please.”

The driver winked, “It’s on me.”

…………………….

I am fashionably late for the Friday Fictioneers this time. I got a lot going at my end. But this one’s special, being Madison’s last. Thanks a lot Madison for hosting such an amazing series. I have met such outstanding writers and learnt so much being part of the awesome gang of Friday Fictioneers in the last 10 months. My blogging got a new direction altogether. I feel lucky to have been a part of this amazing journey. I wish you all the very best in your future endeavors and hope to see you around. 🙂

I would also like to welcome  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and congratulate her for carrying the torch forward. Needless to say, you and I are going to see a lot of each other in future. 🙂

Prompt:

20 thoughts on “The Escape

    1. Not sure what she is escaping from, but it’s definitely not the law. Some gang she ruffled? Maybe she’s a journalist who discovered a big scam?
      Honestly speaking, I am as clueless as you are. 🙂

  1. Very nice. I hope she wasn’t escaping from the law, thus making the driver an accomplice. I had a sense she wasn’t and the driver knew this.
    Thanks for the lovely welcome. I’m looking forward to seeing more of each other as well.
    Rochelle

    1. Yeah, she’s definitely the hero in this one. The details are hazy even to me, but she and the driver are definitely good people. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by. Looking forward to Friday with you! 🙂

  2. Hi P… I was thinking she’d have a blond wig on. Good story, made me wonder what had gone on before the burly man showed up. I liked you having the photo after the story. See you next week…

      1. Do we really have to stick a gum in her hair? I had pictured a pretty girl, shoulder length hair all nicely straightened up despite all the action and dirt – like they show in movies.

  3. Its always good to tell a story and leave the point of view to understand and conclude to the viewer… It does get people engrossed and makes sure that the reading remains interesting! Good work 🙂

    1. Everyone has his/her own interpretation of art (including writing ) and it’s very interesting how people perceive things their own way.
      Thanks Ganesh. 🙂

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

