Cold Comfort

As a child, everything was beautiful. As if the window I looked at the world from was made of rainbow glasses – everything was colorful and bright.

Few years past, the glass became glossy, captivating me with the view of promised lands waiting for me to arrive and shine.

Years progressed, and the glass got transparent, so much so that the sunlight burnt my eyes. The new realizations seemed daunting.

Sitting by the window now, looking at the world outside as frost settles on the glass, I’m wondering if it’s the chill outside or within that’s causing it. But the view, or lack of it, is calming.

…………………

107 words for Firday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle.

I am not going to be around till the weekend or maybe more. I hope to catch up with everyone’s posts in the coming week.

Click on the prompt to follow the madness or better, be a part of it! 🙂

Oh and a little Birthday wish! 😉

17 thoughts on “Cold Comfort

  1. What a wonderful line “As if the window I looked at the world from was made of rainbow glasses” and then the transition as we get older and ‘wiser’ 🙂

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

