6 years…

6 years at WordPress

I joined the bandwagon that’s wordpress 6 years ago.

I had come from blogspot (or is it blogger now?), where for no fault of blogspot, I had made a mess of my blog. A teenager with a lot of nervous energy, I had made my earlier blog a place to rant about the unfairness of the little world I had seen till then. About the hardships a student faced in her Engineering College – assignments and college magazine publishing and general fest politics  (that’s how serious it was). I used to write when I was disappointed, or when I was angry or when I was plain bored.

Then one fine day I sat down to read my old posts and it dawned on me that they were not only pointless and nonsensical, but also for personal consumption on a rainy day. So I buried those old skeletons and fled the crime scene to reach the new and promising land of WordPress.

I called my blog “Austere Alacrity” – to constantly remind myself that I was not to repeat my old mistakes here. Besides, I love alliterations (who doesn’t?). This blog was to be strictly enthusiastic about writing. So there’s hardly anything personal on this blog. Of course it is a reflection of my personality and my experiences in life, but it’s not a personal journal of my life’s current affairs.

Fearing a mere blog title won’t be enough, I resorted to my limited french knowledge (and Google translation) to put a tagline to my blog – “Sang-Froid Est De Rigueur”, which I believe means ‘Calmness is very important’. ( If you know better, please don’t break my myth, because I won’t change my tagline. It’s way too cool and I really like it.)

So, that was that and now it’s been 6 years here! I won’t say it seems like yesterday, because it doesn’t. 6 years have felt very long. In fact, I don’t remember my lanky, careless blogspot days at all (it’s called selective memory ;)). This blog has become a deeply ingrained part of my being and it’s commendable that a person like me has kept up with it for 6 years without thinking even once “What the hell am I doing here?!!”.

It’s crazy to write fiction given the world I come from. Very few people know that I write, and fewer that I write fiction. Hardly anyone from my immediate family knows about/visits this place. Given the nature of my day job, it is inconceivable for most people to imagine I have a blog of this kind.

But crazy is good right? Right??

We’ll find out… Cheers!

Parul

9 thoughts on “6 years…

  1. Dear Parul.

    I consider myself fortunate to be someone who knows that you do write. I have known no other facet of you and Austere Alacrity (via Friday Fictioneers) has provided me with insighst into your thoughts that even those closest to you may not have.

    Six year is commendable and I congratulate you for arriving there. The journey alsways lies ahead and I have no doubt that yours will be a long and pleasant one for all of your readers.

    Thanks for writing.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. That’s very warm Doug. Thanks.
      It has been an honor to have known you through this space.

      Cheers to the years that lie ahead!

      Thanks for this heartfelt comment.

    1. Thanks Maria.
      I too am glad to have left ranting behind. Wish I had done it sooner!
      This blog has done me a lot of good. I am in the company of gifted writers like yourself. It has broadened my horizons taught me so many things.
      It’s been a pleasure and I look forward to more wonderful years ahead. 🙂

  2. Well, Parul, after reading this superb post, it is only apt that I share one of my favourite Latin phrase (which your blog shall always remain):

    verba volant, scripta manent !

    Cheers for 6 years!!

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

