Stoned

“This is awesome!”

“Yeah… so awesome”

“See those lights?”

“Yeah… white lights piercing the ground…”

“This is surreal”

“Yeah… so surreal”

“I want to sleep here”

“Yeah… me too”

“I am going to click this”

“No, I am going to click this”

“Ok, you do it”

“No, it’s fine. You do it”

“Alright, let me get the right angle”

“Alright”

“This is awesome!”

“Yeah… so awesome”

……….

……….

“Hello, this is the reception, how can I help you?”

“Hi, I am calling from Room 1206. Those two guys are stoned and in the corridor again.”

“I will send someone right away.”

…………………………………………………………………

I am going through a terrible writer’s block. There seems to be no end to it, hence this piece from my sleep deprived self. I want to sleep everywhere and anywhere these days. And this corridor in the picture seems like a perfect place! Thanks Rich for the nice prompt. Sorry, I couldn’t do much justice to it.

There is a lot of amazing stuff at Rochelle’s as part of Friday Fictioneers just a click away!

The prompt:

Courtesy - Rich Voza

58 thoughts on “Stoned

  1. Why do I have a feeling this story takes place in Colorado? These two “stoned” guys have wasted no time since the election. The entire state will be soon be “stoned”…then the fun really begins.

  2. Hmmm…could’ve been KC, Mo circa 1969. I seem to remember those two guys. 😉
    Fun piece, but I think I may lobby to have awesome stricken from the English language for overuse. Fun piece, Parul. Now get some sleep!!!
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    1. In fact I remember reading an article on the evolution of the word once. It is present in the holy books too. There was a time when awesome and awful were used interchangeably. Don’t know what awful things happened to awful after that.

  3. Rest assured. (pun intended). It will be back (writing) and you’ll be on a nice natural ‘high’ with words and thoughts coming and looking for a place to land.

  4. Nice piece of dialogue. Hope the writer’s block gets unblocked soon!

    (Pick a random large novel off the shelf, go to page 239 and read the first complete sentence. Now think about how that impacts whatever you’re writing.)

  5. Funny stuff, Parul! Reminds me of the stories of a friend of mine with his brothers back in the late 1960’s and 70’s. He told me he remembered maybe three times of sobriety. Like they say, if you remember the 60’s … you weren’t there!

  6. There is no such thing as writer’s block. Every week there’s a new prompt and every week I come up dry. Then a day or two later the story starts to flow. I’m not saying it’s a good story but every week I go through the same thing. So stop complaining and just write. Anything. Then edit. And I’m sure you’ll find a gem!

  7. You sure have a knack for writing! Now, if that was writer’s block, then, WOW! can we share your frontal lobes, ’cause mine have been blocked for last one month!
    Totally relished reading your post! Cheers, my friend.

  8. With writers-block you sure managed to flow the conversation very well.

    I hope you don’t mind; A tip I just learned is to write a little with your non-dominant hand when you receive your prompt – or to get any story starting; It helps.

    (I’m a newbie to story writing, publically anyhow, and I found this trick helps in many of my writings. I hope this may help).

    Imogen 🙂

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

