The Right Time

She used to say bad people are exceptions in this world. But the third experience broke her. She came home crying, “I’m the exception in this world!”  I tried talking to her but there was only so much a roommate could do.

She locked herself in her art studio and called me one day. A barb-wired black and white globe sat atop a red bucket which she was going to replace with a red vase.

“Purged?” I asked. She just shrugged.

I wanted to hug her, shout “I am an exception too”, but it wasn’t the right time. There never came one.

………………………………

Those are my 102 words for Friday Fictioneers this week. I just couldn’t trim it any further to bring it to 100!

Do let me know what you think of my post. I welcome constructive feedback, so feel free to throw in your two cents, I am here to learn.

Firday Fictioneers is an excellent forum for people looking to have fun as they learn the nuances of writing. Every Friday a bunch of us write 100 words (no hard rules there) for prompts posted by Rochelle who runs the show.

Click here to get to the main post to catch up on the rules and also entries of very able writers!

This week’s prompt has been provided by Doug. I am very curious to know what was really going on there! Not an easy prompt by any stretch of imagination!

Friday Fictioneers Prompt

Enjoy the beautiful song:

60 thoughts on “The Right Time

  1. Parul, this is a unique idea, too, but a sad one. I’m sorry they both missed knowing that they were more alike than different and that the likeness might have been a comfort to both of them. Adeptly done.

  2. Parul,
    Sorry it took so long to get back to you on my blog. I commented… I hope I answered your question in the right way. This was a bittersweet story like life often is for people. Both you and I noticed the chicken wire around the globe. Barb wire is the stuff that goes around the top of fences to keep livestock in or out and to keep people out and sometimes in (Jail). I enjoyed this. Well done.

    Tom

    1. Thanks for your patience with me Tom. I did see your explanation, and if I remember correctly, responded as well.
      You are right, we did notice the chicken wire… only I morphed it into a barbwire to better suit my story.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      1. Thanks Maria. You are right! I didn’t think of those places.
        Thanks Abraham. That’s a good point too.

        Glad you guys thought about it. Thanks for taking time out for this. 🙂

  3. The bad thing about being a unique individual is that everyone else is too. Being “special” isn’t easy, but after years of riding the ‘short bus’ I’ve come to enjoy it.

      1. I perhaps didn’t do a good job at it. Will try to explain here.
        The girl is an artist and she locked herself in her art studio post a heart break. She called her roommate to the studio one day to show what she had made. It was the globe that’s shown in the prompt.
        I guess you followed from there.
        Do let me know if this explains it, or I will try again.
        Thanks a lot for stopping by and giving the piece a thought! 🙂

      2. It’s open to interpretation. I’d say it has. A black and white globe atop a blood red vase. And half of the globe bound by barbwire. Not the rendition of a happy heart I’d reckon.

        I am really sorry for not replying earlier. I somehow didn’t notice this.
        Very sorry!

  4. Back here after such a long time! Loved it.. Sometimes, when there lingers words unspoken- there is a hope of them being understood. May be this hope is the one that strengthens relationships… Loved it!

  5. Dear Parul,

    This was a beautiful story and a cut above the the ‘world creation’ stories the photo has prompted. Your last line was perfectly realized and powerful. I truly enjoyed this tale.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

