Rubin the Storyteller

Genre – Fantasy Fiction

Rubin the storyteller was back from another “adventure”. He flicked his wand and water dragons spewed fireworks in the sky. The river became a reflection of the illumination above.

Rubin always lied. Even the children knew it. He talked of self propelled chariots with only wheels, of humans who were crazy about “paper” – they exchanged it for food, for clothes, they even worked for it.

Today he was telling about something called “cinema” – some kind of amusement humans indulged in. He said dragons were considered fearful and destructive.

Rubin was a liar, but he had imagination, impressive fire-tricks too.

………………………………

100 words for Friday Fictioneers this week.

I would like to wish all the fellow Fictioneers a very happy and prosperous 2013. It has been a wonderful joyride, without a dull moment whatsoever. I hope we keep up the enthusiasm in the coming year and I hope I learn from all you amazing people! 🙂

For the uninitiated, first of all wish you a brilliant, star studded, beautiful and spectacular 2013! In case you are wondering what is going on here, read on. Friday Fictioneers is an excellent forum for people looking to have fun as they learn the nuances of writing. Every Friday a bunch of us write 100 words (no hard rules there) for prompts posted by Rochelle who runs the show.

Click here to get to the main post to catch up on the rules and also entries of very able writers!

The Prompt for this week came from Lora. Thanks for the prompt Lora. It’s a beautiful grand picture I wish I could do more justice to, but since Rochelle asked us to mention genres of the stories, I thought it was a good idea to actually explore different genres that I seldom write about. (Honestly, I hardly ever think of what genre my story falls in. This is a brilliant way of bringing some focus and discipline in my aimless writing. Thanks again Rochelle!) So this one was to strictly stick to the genre I wanted to write about this week.

fireworks-lora-mitchell2

Follow the link to read the other stories:


42 thoughts on “Rubin the Storyteller

  1. I loved your story, Parul. I’d stick with Rubin the Storyteller (no quotes) in the first line, though, since the rest of the story makes it clear that no one believes him.

    I agree that picking a genre, as hard as it can be, is a good discipline. I had to do a little research this morning, trying to place my story. You did very well with this foray into fantasy. I’d love to read more!

    1. Thanks! You were right about the quotes. It looks a lot better without them.
      I am verty excited about genre centric Friday Fictions. Sounds promising!
      Thanks for visiting. I’ll be on your way shortly.

      1. I am not sure how you could have done better. The genre was challenging but well-chosen, the writing really flowed, and I liked the connections to our world through the ‘paper’. I agree with a comment made about quotation marks, but that is a tiny minor detail. Wishing to do better is probably a good thing, but not if it makes you think your work was weak. I thought it was clever, different and mystical. You put a lot into 100 words!

  2. Very nice. I agree with the first comment. I’d drop the scare quotes on storyteller and adventure. the others are ok, though, since they are referring to things his listeners don’t seem to be familiar with.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  3. Your story is perfect for this prompt… I liked Rubin’s fire-tricks, and his tales. I especially liked your use of cinema as a human indulgent… I’m sure you will know what I mean.

    Happy 2013… you were a beautiful star to come out of 2012 for me.

  4. Nicely done, and a great contrast between the two ‘civilisations’ put across very well. Thinking about it, this was not an easy thing to attempt. Well done.

  5. Dear Parul,
    I loved this one from the opening line. I could see the water dragon spewing fireworks. I agree with Sandra about the contrast between two worlds. The fact that “they” don’t believe in “us.” Nice twist. Good job!
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  6. Dear Parul,

    Excellent story from the other side of the mirror or wardrobe, as it were. Loved this story and especially the chasing of ‘paper’. Stellar work.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

