Old and Dear

She lay supine on the porch. The building looked down on her.

Her granddad – a brilliant orthopedic of his time, had poured all his heart into designing the mansion.

The ornamentation on the pillars was a sorry attempt to conceal the idea behind them – femur – the strongest bone in the human body. The balconies looked like surgically opened human skulls, with some grills fixed in as a last thought in what would have been the eye-sockets.

The keepers of art must weep, she chuckled.

She needed money urgently.

I can’t sell this, she thought desperately, there must be another way.

………………………………………

100 words for Friday Fictioneers this week.

For the uninitiated, in case you are wondering what is going on here, read on. Friday Fictioneers is an excellent forum for people looking to have fun as they learn the nuances of writing. Every Friday a bunch of us write 100 words (no hard rules there) for prompts posted by Rochelle who runs the show.

This week’s prompt comes from Kent Bonham

A quicker way to reach other stories:


39 thoughts on “Old and Dear

    1. “Into” it is. Edited.
      Thanks!
      You are right, this is an interesting prompt with so many possibilities.
      I look forward to this week’s entries. I am yet to start with my rounds.

    1. Can’t blame me, been reading one Agatha Christie after another!
      It’s in the details as Hercule Poirot says ! 😀
      Thanks for stopping by

    1. Thanks Penny.. That building is something indeed… And the angle of the photograph seems to be adding to the intrigue.
      Glad you liked my story 🙂

  1. Dear Parul,
    The orthopedic wasn’t far from Gaudí in his building design. The actual architect designed his buildings to mirror nature. Pity the MC feels the need to sell. Nicely done and nice to see you back at writing.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. See, to me this is something out of Frog & Toad, but I can see the bones, too. I like the tension you create between wry humor and quiet desperation. And the “face only a mother could love” kind of fondness for her father’s “folly.”

  3. You’ve done the architecture justice here – I too saw bones and skulls – and I’d also find it hard to part with if I were lucky enough to own it. I really enjoyed this.

  4. Hmm…could be some horror involved it real bones are hidden in the bones of the building. Another reason not to sell…too many ghosts?

    I let the muse take over…I thought the locket bit was cute too. Might even leave a nasty scar… But there is only so much 100 words will allow 🙂
    Thanks for your visit.

  5. Yeah i saw those balconies as bones too. I turned it upside down to make it an alien world but I took them as alien skulls or representations of what their skulls look like. Upside down they became awnings which made me realize that since there is no gravity there they didn’t need balconies. I had to cut that part to make the limit and was so sorry to see my alien skulls go lol. Nice job with the story. I like where you took it.

  6. Great take on this prompt. Oddly medical, but it worked. I especially like how you used the term “supine” to introduce the feel of the story (very medical/organic) while also conveying her mood.

Would love to hear what you have to say about this! :)

